Best of 2013-Pet Photography

20130106Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_5092-Edit

chiwauwaus_sweater_sofa_tampa

Hello everyone. Back again with my final Best of 2013 post-my favorite Pet Photography of the year. I did a lot of pet photography the 2nd half of the year and it will be one of my main focuses in 2014. I love animals, especially dogs and love capturing their personalities. Like people some are easier to photograph than others. I never give up until I at least get a handful of great shots from my pet sessions. This coming year I would also like to capture more unique portraits of pets and owners together. The kinds of photos that will be treasured for decades to come. The first two photos you see here were from my first session of the year. The dog’s names were Princess and Jacob. They were not easy. Rachael their owner did bring along the wonderful mini-sofa which helped a lot and I really love these shots. I took these at the Al Lopez Park dog park which truthfully is not too scenic. A prop like this added tremendously to the images!
One day I read about a ‘Splash Dogs’ competition going on in Lutz and decided to go and take some photos of the event for fun and practice. I LOVE freezing motion like this, moments that pass too quickly for the human eye to really notice.

dog_jumping_water_splash_dogs_Lutz

dog_jumping_water_splash_dogs_Lutz

dog_jumping_water_splash_dogs_Lutz

Up until last spring I had little experience photographing pets in a studio setting aside from a few sessions at a Dog groomers last Christmas. I got the chance to do more after I met Yvonne the owner of Groovy Cats and Dogs, an amazing holistic pet store near me in the Carrollwood area of Tampa. I have now collected 6 different 5×5′ vinyl backdrops to use in these sessions but the teal one still seems to be everyone’s favorite. These sessions are more difficult when I am working with dogs who don’t cooperate as well as I need to keep them in one place so the background looks the way I need it to.

20130409Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_2346-Edit-Edit

20130504Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_9980-Edit

20130504Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0441-Edit

20130504Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0249-Edit

20130504Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0068-Edit

This is Romeo the kitten. SOOO cute! I photographed him at his home, he had never been out in the grass before and wanted to keep running towards the house. Then we took a few photos on the Lanai but he wasn’t liking the hot sun too much there either. Still it was impossible to not get great photos of something so adorable. He was truly like an animated stuffed toy! Finally we took some images inside. Love the one of him on the sofa!

persian_kitten_blue_beads_Tampa

Persian_kitten_hat_box_tampa

prsian_kitten_sofa_stephaniellen

This is Copper and Nugget I photographed them at their home in Gulfport.

20131002Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_4159-Edit

20131002Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_4135-Edit

beagles_Gulfport_Pet_photographer

I did more sessions at Groovy in pursuit of photos for their calendar, here are some of my favorites.

Pet_photography_Tampa_Orlando_stephaniellen2013_MG_2762-Edit - Copy

Pet_photography_Tampa_Orlando_stephaniellen2013_MG_2827-Edit - Copy

Pet_photography_Tampa_Orlando_stephaniellen2013_MG_2916-Edit

blonde_dachshund_Lab_sunglasses

Pet_photography_Tampa_Orlando_stephaniellen2013_MG_3272

three_dachshunds_black

20131013Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_4722-Edit

20130928Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_3429-Edit

Chloe was featured prominently in her parents engagement session. She was a lively and fun dog!

white_dog_black_ear_Curtis_Hixon_park

dog_tennis_balls_engagement_Session

 

I had always wanted to witness ‘Wiener Dog Races’ and had the chance at the Dogtoberfest event in Dunedin. Here are a few fun photos of the doxies running!

 

wiener_dog_races_dunedin

running_dachshund_dogtoberfest

running_dachshund_dunedin

 

Here are some fall/Halloween Portraits

20131013Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_4479-Edit

20131013Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_4607-Edit

small_dog_witches_hat_pumpkins

20000101Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0170-Edit

20000101Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0213-Edit

20000101Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0240-Edit

 

You saw Oscar with his people in yesterday’s post. Here are a few more of him.

 

20131208Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0067-Edit

20131208Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0005-Edit

boy_dog_cleawater_Docks

This last on of Oscar with Rayce might just be my favorite photo of the year I love it both in color and sepia but the sepia has a certain timelessness about it! These are the kind of people and pet portraits I hope to take more of this year!

Finally Christmas Pet portraits.

santa_dogs_South_tampa_puppy_palace

I was hired to come to the South Tampa Puppy palace to photograph the dogs there with Santa. There were 35+dogs and I managed to get at least on great portrait of all of them in just 5-10 minutes per dog. Many thanks to Bryan aka Santa for the opportunity.

dog_sitting_christmas_present

20131207Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0496-Edit

20131207Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0410-Edit

20131207Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0189-Edit

20131207Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0141-Edit

20131130Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0706-Edit

20131130Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0594-Edit

These last photos are of Elly and Nutmeg my family’s dogs. Nutmeg-the brown one who is my best friend is one of the most difficult dogs to photograph ever despite her cuteness. Elly belongs to my brother and is 14 she will pretty much sit wherever you put her which in this case was a pile of the toys she has collected over the years.

20131126Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0472-Edit

 

20131127Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0547-Edit

20131126Pet_Photographer_Tampa_Stephaniellenphotography.com-_MG_0329

 

This year one of my goals is to photograph as many dog breeds as I can in prominent locations all over Tampa Bay. Then at the end of the year I will take the best photos from these sessions and create a hard cover photo book which will be called ‘Run and Wag Tampa Bay’ which I will sell. If your dog is in the book you will get it at a reduced price but I have not worked out the details yet. If you or someone you know has an adorable dog they would like professionally photographed please let me know!

Stephanie

 

 

 

One thought on “Best of 2013-Pet Photography

Leave a Reply

