Baby Frogs

baby_frogs_Stephaniellen_photography_Tampa

Hello everyone! I am so excited to share the images I have for you today. A few years ago I came across baby frogs like these in the same marshy area by the lake where I live as I found them last week. This time there seemed to be more and I found myself drawn into the magical little world of this spot as I photographed them. Most people walk by and do not look twice at this area. It was fun to point them out to some of my neighbors who passed by.

baby_frog_leaf_stephaniellen_photography

baby_frog_Tampa_stephaniellen_photography

Because there were so many there were never ending possibilities for photos! I captured some with my 70-300mm lens and others with my 100 mm macro lens but in order to use that I had to put my tripod-and my feet in many cases into a few inches of swampy water. The results are worth it I think. Observing this area closely over a few days I also discovered this little moth seems to live there and look how cute he is!

brown_moth_stephaniellen_photography

brown_moth_leaf_stephaniellen_photography

I found myself fascinated with this little world! I was chased off by the rain storms we have been getting here in Tampa lately a few times but still managed to get some of the best images I have ever captured!

baby_frog_perched_leaf_stephaniellen_photography

I love this! The little frog perched on the top of this leaf looking out at the word-or his version of it!

two_baby_frogs_leaf_stephaniellen_photography

Two friends hanging out in the shade.
baby_frog_leaf_tampa_stephaniellen_photography

baby_frog_leaf_tampa_stephaniellen_photography

There just seemed to be an endless array of artistic compositions before me!

baby_frog_leaf_stephaniellen_photography

baby_frog_leaf_stephaniellen_photography

Tiny_frog_tampa_stephaniellen_phtography-10

baby_frogs_stephaniellen_photography

On the second day I went out I thought to myself wouldn’t it be cool if one of the many lizards living in the area was hanging out on one of these leaves? Five minutes later I got my wish and then some! I would say 95% of the lizards I see here are the brown ones but every once in a while I spot one of these fun green ones. I was so excited to spot him especially as he blends in so very well!

green_lizard_tampa_stephaniellen_photography

After a little while he crawled over to one of the frogs and I was able to capture just this one image before the frog wisely jumped away! This will go down as one of my favorite images of all time!

Frog_lizard_leaf_stephaniellen_photography_tampa

Nearby were two little frogs who contributed to my other favorite image of this series-the flowers in the background add so much! I half expected a fairy to climb up next to the frogs at any moment! My favorite book as a little girl was The Secret Garden and I was reminded of it when taking these photos. Another highlight was having a mom and baby ducks wander by as I stood there with my tripod!

baby_frogs_leaf_flowers_Tampa_stephaniellen_photography

It is always worth it when walking in nature to really be totally present and really look at everything all around you!
I have placed 5 of these photos onto my Fine Art America website where you may purchase them as prints, canvas wraps etc. If there is a different one you like feel free to email me! My next post will feature the best images from my shoot with an adorable kitten named Romeo!

Leave a Reply

