Splash Dogs! Lutz, Florida: Tampa Pet Photography

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-
Hi Everyone! I have some really fun photos to share with you today! Last weekend I found out about a ‘Splash Dogs’ event going on at The Curious Canine in Lutz, Florida. I believe I saw one of these events on television once but have never had the chance to attend one. I thought it would be a great opportunity to practice some action photography and I was right! It was so much fun watching these dogs compete to see who could jump the furthest. Some were experts and jumped very high in the air after the toy that was thrown others were more hesitant and still learning. Here are some of my favorite images from the day. I shot most of them at f/8 1/1000 or 1/1200 of a second. I was lucky in that the sun was shining in just the right direction!

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9796

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9831

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9835

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9674

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9677

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9272

Getting good images at an event like this is not just a matter of the right settings, I kept changing my position to try to get the best compositions with the setting I was presented with. I took hundreds of photos to get the ones I am sharing with you here. Most of these dogs jumped during 3 different rounds so after the first jump I kind of knew which ones were most likely to jump high as opposed to low like in this last image. Still being as everything moves so quickly and it is impossible to really predict what will happen I was really happy with the number of keepers I came away with!

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9901

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9632

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography--2

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9421

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-0083

I really like some of the photos I got with the dog and the owner in them as well.

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9606

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9681

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9252

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9788

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9730

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9646

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9485

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-9330

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography-0044

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography--4

splash_dogs_lutz_curious_canine_stephaniellen_photography--3
If you would like to see a larger gallery with more photos from this event on my website click here. There are over 100 more in it!

Stephanie

One thought on “Splash Dogs! Lutz, Florida: Tampa Pet Photography

Leave a Reply

