Flowers of Brookside Gardens, Wheaton Maryland

pink_gerber_daisy
Hello everyone! I am writing today from my home town of Glen Burnie, Maryland where I am visiting with family. Yesterday we went to the beautiful Brookside Gardens in Wheaton Maryland. 50 acres of beautiful flowers, trees and trails. In Tampa where I now live there are a lot of amazing tropical trees, plants and wildlife but I notice I do not see flowers around as much as up here in Maryland during the summer months. I have to drive 90 minutes to Bok Tower Gardens or even further to be surrounded by them.

Pink_gerber_daisy_bee_spring
I love nature and find it both magical and healing. Especially when I carry my 100mm macro lens I tend to look for the little things many people just pass by. I love watching the bees, butterflies, and dragonflies. I also love love love color which is pretty obvious in the way I edit my images. I love this photo with the bee, the green background, and the underdeveloped flower on the left.

pool_center_flower_ants
This photo is an example of the kinds of details I look for when I do nature photography. I was in the conservatory building they have at the gardens and came across this flower/plant whose center was filled with a pool of water-it looks like a mini aquarium with its own secret little world inside! Check out the little purple flowers blooming from the center! Also there were a bunch of ants climbing all around and floating on the water. I could probably have sat there staring at this for an hour!

spotted_leaf_green_white

Cool spotted leaf-the variety of plants and flowers-and life in this world is so mind-blowing sometimes!
delicate_leaves_stone_wall

I also love delicate leaves that have a lacy like quality, makes me happy to see them growing along a stone wall.
white_pink_flower_upside_down

peach_flower_hanging

Just beautiful!
red_flower

bee_sitting_pink_gerber_daisy
Focused on the bee in this photo, amazed at the detail I am able to see!

Peach_daisy_bee_gardens

garden_landscape_brookside_gardens_maryland
I will finish with a landscape shot-there are a few lakes on the property and it is just a breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful place-also it is free! I am headed to visit downtown Annapolis today and will do another post with the best photos from my day there. Hope these images have brightened your day!
Steph

Leave a Reply

